Metropolis, IL


McDaniel retains seat as Metropolis mayor

Thursday, April 06, 2017 - Updated: 12:25 PM
Michele Longworth
The polls have closed and the votes have been counted and Metropolis will keep its mayor and Brookport will have a new mayor, according to the unofficial results read Tuesday night at Massac County Courthouse by County Clerk Juanita Wedeking-Newberry.
In the City of Metropolis, Mayor Billy McDaniel won after receiving 600 votes, beating challengers Julian “Butch” Adams, who received 201 votes; Richard Corzine Jr., who received 348 votes and David McManus, who received 295 votes.
In the City of Brookport, challenger Tammi Wessell defeated incumbent John Klaffer.  Wessell received  94 votes, with Klaffer receiving 79 votes.
In the races for aldermen in Metropolis, the vote results are as follows:
Ward One
Mike Hall, who received 90 votes, beat challenger Mindy Sullivan who received 65 votes.
Ward Two
John Taylor, who ran unopposed, received 321 votes.
Ward Three
The winner in Ward Three was Darryl Neill, who received 105 votes with candidate Nathan “Andy” Anderson, receiving 104 votes and Renee Walter, also receiving  104 votes.
Ward Four
Four candidates ran for a seat in Ward Four and the winner was candidate Chad Lewis who received 295 votes with candidates David Daughtery receiving 153 votes, Anna Owens receiving 67 votes and Matthew Steinmetz receiving 31.
For the position of Metropolis city clerk, the only candidate running was incumbent Jan Adams, who received 1225 votes.  For the office of treasurer, incumbent Kristy Koch-Stephenson filed for another term and ran unopposed.  Koch-Stephenson received 1138 votes.
In the City of Brookport, the alermen results are as follows:
Ward One
Kathy Tucker ran unopposed and received 35 votes.
Ward Two
The winner was Lori Ann Klotz, who received 42 with candidate James Clifford Austin, who received 15 votes.
Ward three
No candidates filed for Ward three.
Incumbent Allison Boyt has filed for another four-year term as Brookport City Clerk.  Boyt received 150 votes.
In the Village of Joppa, the winning candidates include:
Village President — Gary Sharp, who ran unopposed, won election as Village President, receiving 43 votes.
For village trustee, there were three four-year terms up for election.  The top three candidates receiving the highest number of votes were: were: Annie Hubbard with 38 votes; Charles Kimmins with 36 votes; Leslie Les Little with 33 votes and Edward Kendall with 14 votes.
Also on the ballots in April were the candidates seeking election to the Massac Unit One and Joppa-Maple Grove school boards, with the most contested race being the four, four-year terms on the Unit One school board.
Unit One School Board
Out of the incumbents who ran, Donald Koch and Larry R. Sommer will remain on the board, with incumbents Linda Grace and Elmer Pullen not getting re-elected.
The top four candidates with the most votes include:
Jennifer Larrison, with 1312 votes
Larry R. Sommer with 1191 votes
Jeff Brugger with 1310 votes
Donald Koch, with 1147 votes
Other candidates who ran included: Michael W. Bruce, with 799 votes; Linda Grace, with 1067 votes and Pullen, with 601 votes.
Candidates Mark L. Souders and Kathy L. Rushing sought election to two two-year terms on the board.  Souders received 1671 votes and Rushing received 1557 votes, both winning the two-year terms.
Joppa-Maple Grove School Board
In the Joppa-Maple Grove School District there were three four-year seats and one two-year seat up for grabs in the election.
The top three candidates receiving the most votes include:
Daniel Burnett, with 170 vote
Gail Stubblefield, with 136 votes
Stacey Reames, with 126 votes
The other candidates running for a seat was Denise Meyer, who received a total of 110 votes and Don Miller, who received 102 votes.
Chris L. McGinness ran unopposed for a two year seat on the board.  He received 175 votes.


Current Magazine

Click here to see, download more issues

Most Popular
Event Calendar
1 2 3 4
26 27 28 29 30 31

Click here to submit an event.