Metropolis, IL


Hoop Shoot winners announced

Wednesday, January 18, 2017 - Updated: 9:31 AM
Galen Shelton
At halftime of last Friday’s West Frankfort boys’ game, the Metropolis Elks Lodge announced the winners of this year’s Hoop Shoot activities.
The competition was held Dec. 11, and these are the age group winners.
From this group, Sophie Bormann and Zack Maurer competed this past Saturday at the Anna-Jonesboro District level with Maurer taking second place in his age group and Bormann taking first place in her group. Bormann will compete in the state tournament on Feb. 25 at Decatur.
In the local shootout, 8-9 year old boys group, Maurer made an amazing 25 of 25 free throws to advance.
Also at Friday night’s presentation, Don Sawyer was honored for 41 years of chairing the Hoop Shoot activities and will step down after this year.
Winners were as follows:
• 8-9 year boys: Zack Maurer, first place; Alex Hall, second place; and Eli Brown, third place
•   10-13 year boys: Grady Bormann, first place; Luke Maurer, second place; and Gabe Rottmann, third place       
• 10-13 year girls: Alysa Browning, first place
• 12-13 year boys: Logan Vickers, first place; J.J. Sweatt, second place; and Noah Jeffords, third place
• 12-13 year girls: Sophie Bormann, first place; Farrah Castleman, second place; and Cassidy Copley, third place
Current Magazine

Click here to see, download more issues

Most Popular
Event Calendar
1 2 3 4
26 27 28 29 30 31

Click here to submit an event.